Any guitar turned bass players here?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by ButchR, Jan 11, 2008.

1. ButchR

ButchR Komet Player Gold Supporting Member

We are losing our bass player and the idea has crept up in my head that I might be called on to play a little bass in the interim. We do have another guitar player so......you get the picture.

Anyone made the transition? Any frustrated guitar players turned to the bass? How hard was it for you?

2. Bryan T

Bryan T Guitar Owner Silver Supporting Member

I've played bass in about half of the bands I've been in. However, I definitely wouldn't call myself a 'frustrated guitar player.' The transition wasn't hard, though I do think of it as a separate instrument and not just a guitar with four strings. The right hand technique has definitely come in handy for improving my fingerstyle technique, particularly in tone production, string stopping, and rest strokes.

Bryan

3. Baconator

Baconator Member

I started playing bass a few years after taking up the guitar and loved it. I don't think it could help but improve your guitar playing, at least it improved mine. Actually, let me qualify that statement. It improved my guitar playing somewhat, although I ended up getting much more work as a bassist and because of that my guitar playing started suffering. It's only been in the last few years that I've been trying to minimize my bass playing so that I can improve my guitar playing again. I really do enjoy the bass and love having the ability to play both.

4. tkozal

tkozal Supporting Member

When I was 19. Like almost 30 years ago. There were geetar players all over campus, and no bass players. The best band knew I knew my stuff ( music major) and got me a bass and I started to go. In a band that basically covered Mahavishnu Orchestra and RTF tunes....being thrown into the deep end.