Any hammond B3 players here?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Jaimoe, Dec 7, 2016.

1. Jaimoe

Jaimoe Member

Ok, can you lend a hand?

Like most of you, I'm a guitarist, but I recently acquired an old B3 and Leslie 122. Been enamoured by that sound since I was a teenager.

So, how can I get it to distort ala Jon Lord? Sure, send the signal to a Marshall, but I want that spinning Leslie tone also.

Is there a product that will split the signal or some box that will act like a junction where I can insert something like our TS9 to overdrive the Leslie?

Thanks for your help. Suggestions please.

2. stevel

stevel Member

You can post in the new Keyboards section!

I'm sure there are plenty of "how to get John Lord sound" videos on YT.

3. Jaimoe

Jaimoe Member

Thanks. Didn't know it existed.

4. MikeVB

MikeVB Supporting Member

Richard Goodsell is a B3 player. He had to work on his own, got known for doing that, and evolved into building guitar amps. He's a member here, and a great guy.

5. slybird

slybird Member

I didn't know about that section. If that area ever becomes a thing for the larger synth community it will make this section much more enjoyable. The old school rockers here will be bombarded with threads about EDM, drone, darkwave, house, and some of the latest electronic music genres and production. Music from this century will no longer be ignored.

6. bob-i

bob-i Member

When I was rebuilding an old Hammond I signed up at organforum.com . The guys there are very knowledgeable and helpful.

Steve Hotra likes this.
  7. jmoose

jmoose Member

Yeah. Probably one of the best/easiest options is to install a Trek II preamp and FX loop.

http://trekii.com/