Any Les Paul experts? Need opinions on a 1979 Custom

joelbah

A guy with a 1979 '69 Reissue Les Paul Custom is considering trading me for my 1996 Classic. Mine has a couple tiny nicks. His is really beat up. Mine has an amazingly perfect set up. Not sure about his but he did say there was some fret wear on 2, 3 and 5 and that it had a very low action. I haven't played it yet, but thankfully he only lives an hour away so I'll be able to play it before we figure out a trade.

Anyway, I'm just wondering what I should know about 1979 Customs, and what his is probably worth, because he wants me to add some cash to even the trade. Any help would be appreciated. I also know there are lots of Les Paul dedicated forums, but I don't know which one might has the most reputable members, so if you want to suggest another forum, I'm ok with that.

Are 1979 '69 reissue customs good guitars? What are the stock pickups?

He sent me some pictures.

AL30

I have no experience with the Reissues but I have a 1980 Silverburst Custom. My Silverburst weighs a TON and I'm not one to complain about heavy guitars. But this one is heavy. It doesn't resonate well either. It does have plenty of attack and bite plugged in. It's a good guitar but isn't as nice as my '91 LP Custom.

My advice is go play the guitar if you think you're interested.

AL

Guitarzandstuff

Gold Supporting Member
This would be a 79 Custom, not a reissue of anything. That said, I'd rather have the Custom over a Classic!

joelbah

This would be a 79 Custom, not a reissue of anything. That said, I'd rather have the Custom over a Classic!
yeah he told me it was a '69 reissue, which didn't seem to make sense, but that's what he said.

anyone have any idea what this might be worth?

GCDEF

Silver Supporting Member
It would probably sell for more than it's worth. I'd keep what you have if it were me. Not much good came out of the 70s.

Pietro

2-Voice Guitar Junkie and All-Around Awesome Guy