Any mandolin players here?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by ABKB, Nov 6, 2005.

1. ABKB

ABKB Member

I have had a mandolin for about three years now, (one of them cheap Fender jobies with the pickup on it), and I gotta say, I love the instrument, always have. I am not a country or bluegrass player by any means, more of a rock/blues guy. But it is such a sweet sound. Anyway, I have most of the basic chording down, but are there any good web sites on learning the instrument for dumb guitarists like me? Because the tuning is so different from guitar, I really have to pay attention to where I am going, so I know it's just a learning thing. Tonight my band had me break it out and we came up with a really cool tune with it. But I want to get better at it.

Thanks guys!

2. teleking36

teleking36 Supporting Member

hey there!

i'm a guitar player at heart, but i've been playing mandolin for a few years now and it's a great change of pace and a great challenge to learn new stuff. my fav mando website is www.mandolincafe.com. they seem to have the most interactive and informative site on the internet. they have tons of useful tabs and soundbytes, as well as a forum for discussions, etc. check them out!

3. ABKB

ABKB Member

Very cool site! Thanks Teleking36. I agree, the Mando is a great change of pace as well as a challenge. And it's just so dang puuuuurty on the ears lol.

Anybody else play?

4. decay-o-caster

decay-o-caster Member

My GF is a classical violinist, but I've given her electric violins and she's played with my rock band. This year I'm having Bill "Shades" Chapin make an electric mandolin for her - the "Anne-dolin"!. It's the same tuning as a violin, but she'll be able to play chords as well. And ya never know, if she happens to leave it lying around, I just might pick it up and see if I can figure it out myself! :)

5. ABKB

ABKB Member