Any Neodymium Fans Out There?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by MojoTone82, Feb 8, 2015.

1. MojoTone82

MojoTone82 Member

Hey Fellas.

It wasn't until recently I started playing around with some neodymium speakers, I guess I had this preconceived notion that they would sound thin or too "hi-fi" for me...

However, after buying my Celestion Century Vintage I was realized I was thoroughly misinformed as I very much enjoy the sound of the Century... So this lead me of course to research more Neo's on the market.

I was actually looking for something loud and capable to handle lower tunings to throw in a closed back 1x12, I was leaning toward an EVM12L or "clone" so naturally I came across the Emi Delta Pros...

With his in mind and my fascination with Neo speakers, I decided to order a deltalite ii 2512 and Im hoping I made the right choice... I know some have experience with the Deltalite's, and I'm hoping they won't sound to "PA" system. I wonder why builders have not developed MORE Neo based speakers, from what I have heard they have HUGE potential in the market, yet it doesn't seem to be gaining much traction!

If anyones interested I might do an A/B test between the Century Vintage & Deltalite ii 2512 once it arrives :phones

2. Mark Robinson

Mark Robinson Member

I have enjoyed a Jensen Tornado, for a few years now. It's nice and open, good clarity and can handle power. I enjoy lots of other speakers as well. I think some players are sort of uncomfortable with the idea. I was, until I heard the speaker unidentified , liked it, asked what it was. Then it happened again!

Last edited: Feb 9, 2015
  3. Primakurtz

Primakurtz Member

Please do the comparison! Try a Jensen Neo Tornado, too.

Guitar players tend to be ultra-conservative about gear. Bass players have been loving neo speakers for years.

4. slybird

slybird Member