Any of you guys lease a vehicle? Thoughts?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by billyg121, Feb 14, 2015.

1. billyg121

billyg121 Supporting Member

Went car shopping today with my wife. The salesman , who seemed like a cool, no pressure guy, was explaining to me about leasing a car and how it is structured so much better now than it used to be. He said banks have to preset the value the car will be when the lease expires, etc. anyway, just thought I would see if any of you lease, and your thoughts in it? Thanks a bunch guys!

2. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

I always lease these days. It's a minimal money down, care free, maintenance covered, value guaranteed way of owning a car for a few years, and you get to turn it in for another new one as soon as the lease expires.

The best part is that more expensive cars can actually cost you less due to their high residual values. I've been leasing E class Mercedes for the last ten years, and my lease payments are lower than other cars costing $10,000 less because of its high residual.

Another benefit is that if you're in an accident and have it repaired to spec, you never have to worry about selling it at a depreciated value due to the damage record. The residual does not change.

The only caveat is that if you put on a lot of miles, it may not be the best choice. I do < 12,000/year, so it works out very well for me.

And BTW, the best deals come when there are special 'factory sponsored lease' rates available. If you wait a bit, they always show up for most fairly popular cars.

3. billyg121

Cool. The lease I looked at only had 10000 miles per year. Although we prob don't drive much over that.

4. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

But even if you go slightly over, you can write in a clause so the cost is minimal.

5. bgmacaw

bgmacaw Member