Any point in ever upgrading from Les Paul Studio?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by auffredou, Mar 4, 2008.

1. auffredou

auffredou Member

First: What the hell is wrong with me?!?!?

I had been eyeing the same strat for several months and finally went today thinking *maybe* I would put some money down on it. Ive been going back and forth forever, and tonight I tried something Ive never done before. I played a really nice Les Paul next to it at the store. I realized why Im having so much trouble going for it. I love the sound of the strat, I love the look of the strat, I love how well it works with most any equipment/rig. But this idea that I should have thought of a long time ago made me realize that I cant get used to the necks.

I cant tell if its because Ive only played a Les Paul for most of my guitar-playing life, or what, but for some reason I become twice as fast and just sound better overall on a Les Paul. I left the store thinking "Holy Crap! Im really a Gibson guy..." Its actually a nice feeling when you can admit something like this to yourself.

So anyway, then I considered looking at different options within the Gibson line to compliment my studio. I liked a few SG's that I played, but couldnt really get used to the 335. While I played better on most of them than I did on the strat, it was the Les Pauls that felt like home.

So, ANYWAY.... my question is this: If I am happy with the look/feel of my studio, is there any point in upgrading? I guess Im talking sound wise. From everything Ive heard, the studio is going to sound almost exactly the same as a Standard or something, it just doesnt look as fancy. What about the VOS ones? I always assumed there was reason to upgrade, but now Im wondering how much of a difference it makes.

2. Johnnytone

Johnnytone Supporting Member

The VOS ones are the Historic series. There are PLENTY of differences between them and the Studios, from construction methods to wood selection to pickups, etc.