Any Taylor Solidbody players out there?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by eman, Feb 22, 2012.

1. eman

eman Member

Yo just wanted to hear about other peoples experiences with the solidbody since its still fairly new. I've been playing my solidbody custom for about three years now. Working it hard lately with 150 gigs a year and it's holding up pretty well. My only beef is the damn pickup switch which has been glitchy and not sturdy enough for real work. I'm gonna get it replaced as soon as tours over. Overall though I love it. Plays beautifully and very comfortable. I've learned how to work the midboost tone knob throughout songs to find the right sound. If you got one What do y'all think so far? Any other common problems to be aware of? Any style that you find it does really well?

2. TheHeavy

TheHeavy Member

i just cant get passed the way they look
    i bet they are of high quality and playability tho

3. Jdobson

Jdobson Member

Had a SB Standard. Beautiful guitar but crazy fret buzz and the bridge was maxed out as far as the height went. Took it to a couple different techs/luthiers and it would have needed some major work to "maybe" get rid of the buzz. Wasnt worth it after what I had already payed so it went back. REALLY wanted to love it but didnt.

4. djlynch

djlynch Supporting Member

Had one
    flat board
    wider neck that felt nice
    it has its own sound going on but to me it was to un strat or les paul like if that makes sense

5. ef_in_fla

ef_in_fla Member

I've lusted for a walnut topped s/b since I laid eyes on them.

6. eman

eman Member

Yea I got the walnut top and that look was what lured me in actually. I can agree that the standards are ugly. And def not quite les and not strat know what you mean.

7. RockHardGuitars

RockHardGuitars Silver Supporting Member