Any thoughts on: The Jazz Guitar Method by Jody Fisher OR any suggestions pls!

jazzmonkey007

Hi, I was wondering if any of you had any thoughts this method. I want to learn jazz. I've been playing for a while (about 20 years) mostly blues and also did a Bachelor in pop. If anyone has any opinions to offer on this series or if you think there's a better one, please let me know.

Thanks.

harmonicator

I really dug his books.

learned a lot from Mastering Jazz Improv and Chord Melody.

I would recommend em.

djdrdave

I just moved to a new place but is this the alfred music publication? If so i picked it up at barnes and noble a few months back. It looks great just havent had time to dive into it

projam619

The Fisher series is quite good, but as with any series, ultimately insufficient. There are books considered "canonical", such as the David Baker series, and the Berklee Method. And there's so many others that it gets confusing as to which approach to take. On a personal level I can vouch for the Mel Bay Complete Encyclopedia to Jazz Guitar Lines and Phrases (great lines), books by Robert Conti (street learning over academic method), the Mel Bay Private Lessons series (catered to your interests), Pat Martino Linear Expressions (excellent!), David Stryker's book (good source of idiomatic bebop phrases), books by Jay Umble (more modern stuff), Jeff Bergonzi for jazz pentatonics. Video courses on TrueFire (esp Mimi Fox and Andreas Oberg) and mikes master classes.com are great! For standards, 5 star lessons are available at Barry Greene's website. Also, you may choose to enroll in Jimmy Bruno's, Mark Elf's, and/or Andreas Oberg's online conservatories.

Lately I've re-discovered Scott Henderson's DVD "Jazz Rock Guitar" - its excellent in teaching you jazz scales over maj7, min7, min7flat5, and (alt.) dominant chords. You wont be disappointed...