Anyone digging into this book? Hal Galper Forward Motion Book

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by proreverb68, Sep 14, 2008.

1. proreverb68

proreverb68 Member

From Bach To Bebop A corrective approach to Jazz phrasing.

I'm just getting into it...on page 34 right now....

This is already influencing how I think, listen and play.....already...

He talks alot about the importance of choosing what and where to play chord tones vs passing tones on strong and weak beats among many, many other things...

here's a vid of him playing...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gg5W-ISzKVs

So you might guess..he is going to talk about more than simply strong and weak beats...in the book.

Looking forward to finding out who else is or has read it and what they got out of it as well.

Peace,

Andrew

2. Mike

Mike Member

Great book. I'm mindful of what he says every time I practice. Probably had the biggest impact on how/where I construct lines as anything else I've ever bought on the subject.

Mike

3. willhutch

willhutch Supporting Member

Very valuable info. I confess that I didn't work through the examples in the book. Nonetheless, reading the text changed the way I hear music and, to a significant extent, the way I play.

Big thumbs up.

4. proreverb68

proreverb68 Member

Glad to see some of the same sentiment for this book being shared by others on the forum.
    I skimmed through it quickly and already....I can tell It is going to change how I hear rhythm in my lines.
    There is also a site you can visit to hear the examples if your piano chops aren't where you'd like them to be. You can find the link in the book itself.
    I'm trying to go through it piece by piece...with patience... This might take me all winter...

Hmmm...so now im on page 38...

I have a question for you harmony masters...
    In an example...He super imposes an Ab triad on the G7b9 chord.
    I understand that this alters the chord by sharping the 5th etc.