Anyone done a 12"/10" cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by CitizenCain, Nov 18, 2005.

1. CitizenCain

CitizenCain Member

I've got a 2x10 cab that I'm using for a JTM45 clone. It's got a great sound, but I had a chance to plug into a 1x12 cab with a G12H30 and I immediately liked the difference the 12" makes.

Can't get another 2x12" cab, and I'm not selling the 2x10 since it was custom made for me. I wondered about pulling one of the 10"s and putting in a 12".

What do think that would work out like? The cab dimensions are 24" x 20" x 11", built along the lines of a Marshall combo cab, semi-open back. There's enough room for one 12" in there, I checked it out :)

2. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member

I've been using a KJL Clubowner 12/10 cab for several years and, once I found the right speakers, it sounds better than any 1X12, 2X10, or 2X12 I've played. I use a ceramic 12 for a tight puncy bottom with an alnico 10 for top end sweetness....but YMMV.

3. CitizenCain

CitizenCain Member

Thanks for the reply, Vaughn! Now I'm really interested in doing this. Looks like I've got some work for the old jigsaw this weekend :D

4. WinstonN

WinstonN Silver Supporting Member

I built one two years ago and I love it -- one of my fave cabs...Pine cab w/fixed birch 1/2" baffle and open back. The speakers are on a diagonal, so it's pretty small. It combines pleanty of thump with lots of high end and is VERY easy to cart around.

I have a Weber Blue AlNiCo 12 and Weber ceramic 10 in there now. Vaughn, I've been wanting to try your speaker combo ever since I read what you were using.

Anyway, great combo IMO.

5. Scumback Speakers

Scumback Speakers Gold Supporting Member

One of my amp clients did this combo as well. In his case, a G12M Reissue (6402 cone) ceramic 12" and a Jensen Alnico 10" (P10R). Sounded great. I was very surprised at how well they sounded together...nice bottom & mids from the 12", sweet upper mids and highs from the 10".

6. CitizenCain