Anyone experienced w/ Line 6 Vetta 2 or Spidervalve Head??

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by Beatlefan1968, Oct 13, 2008.

1. Beatlefan1968

Beatlefan1968 Member

Hello, my musical taste and hobby is learning to play classic rock from my favorite artist. I am a believer in tube tone after having owned several tube amps (thanks M.F.!) but want to closer replicate their tone and sound that you hear on their recording. I definetely want an amp that can cover Stevie Ray Vaughan's tone, and also anything from Rush to Beatles to Queen to Warren Haynes (Gov't Mule, Allman Brothers)tone. Of the two amps mentioned - Vetta 2 and the new Spidervalve 100 watt head - can you recommend? I want the versatility of the Vetta 2, but do not want to sacrifice guitar tone for a generic digital sound, if there is such a sacrifice. I have limited experience with both in a noisy music store (G.C.) and was hoping someone with experience could share their opinion, PLEASE! Also, in keeping with Celestion Vintage 30's or something good, what 4x12 cab would you recommend? Any thoughts with the Egnater 4x12 Vintage 30 model?? Thank you so much for your help.

2. bforest4

bforest4 Supporting Member

I would recommend getting a used spidervalve head(lots of sounds, fx, and bang for the buck) for around $600 and than getting a real tube amp head with no digital stuff when you want pure tone(I recommend Badcat Hotcat, /13, Suhr Badger, Fargen, Vox AC15 HW, Marshall, Egnator). I have the spidervalve combo, and dig the quick access to hundreds of sounds with fx, but it doesn't hang with my higher end tube amps for pure tone.

3. EdgeOfDarkness

EdgeOfDarkness Member

I would suggest a used vetta and getting the armin mod.

4. ib2010

ib2010 Supporting Member