Anyone knows Rick Rubin's work process?

lightningsmith

Silver Supporting Member
I've heard many bands said he's not present most of the time e.g. Velvet Revolver changed to another producer due to that. Nevertheless, he produced results.

I'm not a recording artist but I'm curious of his work process, if anyone knows.

TubeStack

Silver Supporting Member
You can see him working with The (Dixie) Chicks in the Shut Up And Sing doc. There's a great part where he's listening to song demos to pick ones to record for the album, and he turns to Natalie Maines and says matter of factly, "So you're going to rewrite these lyrics."

I've also read stories about him bringing a bed into the studio and laying in it with a mic while he gives feedback to the band.

Also remember Billy Gibbons mentioning to an interviewer that he had an upcoming meeting with Rubin and that they were probably going to sit on a cliff edge and look at the sea, or something along those lines. :)

lightningsmith

Silver Supporting Member
There was a documentary series on Showtime called Shangri-LA that, while not an exhaustive overview of his working process, gives some great insights into his sense of things that likely frame it.
Also remember Billy Gibbons mentioning to an interviewer that he had an upcoming meeting with Rubin and that they were probably going to sit on a cliff edge and look at the sea, or something along those lines. :)

RevDrucifer

It seems to be different depending on the artist/era. Either that or we never get the full picture when one particular artist describes working with him and he’s just all over the place.

I get the idea that he likes working with people that don’t need their hand held and he’s not overly interested in the sound aspect, but rather the material itself.

RevDrucifer

I prefer producers that are interested in the sonic aspect - creating guitar tones, textures, layers, dynamics, harmonies etc.