Anyone playing Fallout 76?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by JWDubois, Nov 26, 2018.

1. JWDubois

JWDubois Member

I'm done with RDR2, so I started Fallout 76 last night. Played for a couple of hours. No real opinion yet, I'll need to learn the mechanics and level up a bit first. The graphics are disappointing though, not even up to FO4, and especially lame after playing RDR2 for the last few weeks.

Only saw one other player. He was running around in his underwear, which I'm not sure was a statement or he just didn't know how to equip his gear properly. It was pretty funny though. The multiplayer thing is going to take a while to get used to, since I've never done any MMO stuff before. The lobby was full, but looking at the map, everyone was all spread out, I didn't see any obvious teams.

The most jarring thing so far is that compared to FO and Skyrim, there's no pausing for anything, no taking your time in the menus during a fight or while you look up how to do something, no saving. I even got jumped while in a crafting table menu at my own camp. I ended up quitting for the night when the urge to pee became overwhelming and the only safe way to pause was to log out.

2. ChorusCrackpot

ChorusCrackpot Member

Is it better than Fortnite?

3. pup tentacle

pup tentacle Silver Supporting Member

I'm holding out for the PC version of RDR2, and have pretty much been playing only GTA online since its release. I got excited when I saw Fallout had gone online since I spent a lot of time enjoying Fallout 3, but 76 was pretty much dumped on in the reviews. Rockstar once again added another mode to GTA online, so that will keep me going for a while. RDR2 has already run out of fun for you? I look forward to playing it, but, as with the first RDR, I'll probably get tired of horses and old-fashioned weapons before too long. I would think the online aspect would keep it fun for a lot longer. Hopefully there aren't too many more years to go before the next GTA.

4. JWDubois