Anyone regret playing guitar instead of something else?

cantstoplt021

Every once in awhile I go through short stints of wishing I had started on something like piano instead of guitar a few years ago. These spells don't last long, but they happen every once in awhile. I do love guitar, but sometimes I wish I was more of a drummer or pianist although I do play and practice those both daily. Any of you regret playing guitar? If so why?

gigs

I'm a decent drummer. I wish I was a really good drummer. Cuz when I'm campin or fishin with family and friends, they would'nt ask me to entertain them and play some drums around the campfire.

Astronaut FX

Gold Supporting Member
Not really. Nothing preventing you from learning another instrument. I've been hacking my way across the keys of pianos and synths for years.

Oh, and fair warning, TGP is a no shorts allowed zone. Not sure if that applies to "short stints of thinking," but consider yourself warned. :p

derekd

Silver Supporting Member
I dearly regret not taking piano lessons in addition to guitar lessons like my parents wanted me to do. Piano wasn't "cool" at the time (I was 9).
Agreed.

Everyone else got piano lessons, I sure wish I had.

My wife is classically trained on piano.

mdrake34

Agreed.

Everyone else got piano lessons, I sure wish I had.

My wife is classically trained on piano.
I don't even want to be able to play Beetoven, I'd just like the natural understanding of theory that comes with learning the piano, and to be able to accompany myself.

derekd

Silver Supporting Member
Theory I've got. It is read both clefs and knowing where to put my fingers that has me snookered.

On the flip side, Mrs. D can't play a thing unless she has the music in front of her. I play off the page all the time.

supergenius365

Silver Supporting Member
I wish my parents had forced me to take piano lessons, but they didn't. I've tried to teach myself a few times with no real success.

supergenius365