Anyone taught themselves piano?

NB_Terry

Are there some good online resources or books I can buy to learn piano?

I've been a guitarist for 25 years, I have a good knowledge of chord and theory.

Any ideas on how to learn basic piano skills at a reasonable pace? I'd like to avoid the Twinkle Twinkle Little Star type songs if I could.

I don't aspire to be a jazz soloist on piano, but my goal is to earn the left hand/right hand rudiments so I can play piano to songs I already know on guitar.

Thanks.

Simon Gee

I did, but not using any books. So my technique is a bit lousy.

FYI, I put stickers on the keys with the note names. And i wrote out a chart of what notes were in what chords. This was at the same time I was basically figuring out theory by myself too, by analysing songs and working what/how/why of the chords etc. So I'd play triads with my left hand, bass notes with my right. Eventually i got pretty good at accompaniment piano, but not at solo, instrumentalist piano.

And I never learned any good technique. But I'm still happy with what I play.

joemilitello

I bought a $ 50 Thomas organ at a garage sale in June (it weighs a ton! getting it in the house was a bear), it has keys that light up and have the note names on the keys.

I bought a chord book & use it to learn songs I already know on guitar. It's working out pretty well.

I'd get those stickers Simon Gee mentioned & a chord book.

dets1

i taught myself to play chords with both hands, but getting that independant thing down- no way. i suck.

Kappy