Anyone using Just a single Klon as their overdrive

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by shawntp, Aug 22, 2008.

1. shawntp

shawntp Member

I am new to team Klon but I really-really like it so far. Im not going to call it the holy grail or anything and fuel everyones Klon lust but its just a great (and expensive overdrive).

Anyways - ive always been a stacker and have used FullDrives, multiple OCD's, Timmy, TIM, ZenDrive and a few others along the way.

This Klon is not as clear as the TIM, as smooth or with the gain of ZenDrive - but it does its own thing so very well. I almost dont want to stack it with anything (and ive been trying stuff out all yesterday and today).

It stacks great with some pedals but I find if I just jack the Klon's drive up to 3:00 and make sure its pushing the amp I am getting as high gain as I want and also with tones that I prefer to when the Klon is backed off and feeding into or being fed by my other overdrives.

Those big spread out knobs make it easy to roll up gain with your foot and there is no real change in volume associated with rolling the gain.

Obviously we all have different needs at home/on stage and hear different things but right now I am in honeymoon heaven and dont want anything on but this Klon - id rather just roll the gain to my need than stack it up.

Just wondering if anyone else out there uses this thing exclusively for their amp smoking OverDrive needs.

Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  2. noctilux1

noctilux1 Member

Shawntp,
    I'm like you. When I play most of my amps, I use the Klon with different pedals. My Orange Overdrive OR120 2x12 combo is the only amp where the Klon is used alone. The Orange has its own thing going tone wise so when I use the Klon with it, its just a very gentle boost. I think to get the most out of the Klon (alone or in combination), the amp really needs to be wound up.