Anyone using Marshall-style amps with an EVM12L speaker?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by abnerfm, May 3, 2016.

1. abnerfm

abnerfm Member

Just for the sake of curiosity, what are your thoughts? Thanks in advance.

2. Guinness Lad

Guinness Lad Silver Supporting Member

I used a Soldano SLO100 with a EV12L and it was awesome. The EV is a fantastic speaker especially if you want to maximize clean tones on amps that have less than spectacular clean tones.

Figaro and abnerfm like this.
  3. 57Strat777

57Strat777 Member

Here's a demo video of my Friedman Pink Taco 20 watt with a Mesa ported Theil 1/12 EVM12L. I love the EVM12 speaker. I have 3 speaker cabinets loaded with EVM12's that I've been using for 25 years.

Last edited: May 3, 2016
    ianblond, abnerfm and mikebat like this.
  4. mjtripper

mjtripper Supporting Member

It's my favorite speaker, I use them with marshall style, fender style, etc.

abnerfm likes this.
  5. ledzep618

ledzep618 Supporting Member

I've done, it can work. As noted above it will assist the clean tone but it won't crunch and give you the Marshall sound, a big piece of which is speaker compression and the EQ curve imparted by a greenback type speaker.

Try it though, I think evm12ls work best in clean machine amps, amps that flub up on the bass when pushed too hard like fender blackface combos, or in super high gain applications where the lows need to be be super tight.

abnerfm likes this.
  6. wntbtw

wntbtw Supporting Member

I had one in my JCM 800 single channel '2204' 1x12 combo. It was a great sounding speaker and i`m sure in a 2x12 or 4x12 it would be great but I was only about 90% happy w/ it [nothing wrong w/ that i guess!]

abnerfm likes this.
  7. Geeze

Geeze Silver Supporting Member

My guitar teacher runs one in a TL806 cab with his Marshall VM. All his jam buddies say it is his best tone ever. I've run two with a JTM45 clone and it sounded magnificent - first time I really liked the EV's.

Russ