Anyone using the Mirage RAF Compressor?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Frenster, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Frenster

Frenster Put your Rock Face on!

I've heard good things about it and would love to hear from people who use it, and from people who used to use it and now use something else.

Might be my next purchase.

2. Frenster

anyone even have one?

3. Montez

Montez Member

Frenster,
    There are several posters here that have bought a Mirage.

I am curious what folks say as well after long term. I can always use the feedback constructively.

4. Frenster

Great to see you chime in, Montez. I wish I could find one to try out here. I've been on a compressor hunt for the past year or so. Haven't found anything yet that I'm totally happy with. I'd love to hear from some users.

5. RSK

RSK Member

I've been using the Mirage for about 6 months and have Keeley, Bi comp, Demeter, MXR, also. I find that for general use, the Mirage enhances tone naturally and I keep coming back to it. For big squeeze sounds I use one of the others. Also, it does not subtract treble or add it, just a nice sheen. Great compressor for all styles of music.

6. Dennis E.

Dennis E. Silver Supporting Member

I've had mine for over a year, and anytime I'm plugged in it's on.

It's the secret sauce to everything I play.

I generally dislike compressors .... don't really like the squishy types. Sold my TC, sold my Tonepress, sold my Keeley. Kept the Mirage because it does its thing without taking all the bounce out of my dynamics and sound.

I love the extra oomph that it gives to everything I play that's clean or semi-clean. Yet nothing sounds overly squished.

But I also really love that it allows me to actually turn down my amps yet still get gain, sustain, and even feedback from my dirt boxes. It's allowed me to get more usable gain with less volume in a real world playing situation.