Anyone w/ ADA MP-1 experience?? Help!

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by mvd18969, Jul 18, 2008.

1. mvd18969

mvd18969 Member

To start, I've always been a tube amp guy that prefers to plug straight into the amp to get my tones. I own some nice Mesa combos, a 5150 and a few other high gain Crate Stealth Series. Recently, I started playing with a band that focuses on 70s and 80s stuff. Everyone in the band is a really good and experienced player. The keyboard player (who runs the band) is a stickler for details. Not only do you have to know the exact parts cold, you have to cop the tone on the recordings. (Enter my dilemna). The other guitarist has a ton of gear and came to practice the other night w/ a rack loaded w/ an ADA MP-1 preamp, a few mulit effect units and EQ (no power amp). He basically gave me it for me to start using w/ the band. I have absolutely no experience using one of these. Back in my metal days, I played with a few guys who had them and I always thought they sounded awful. Anyway, I'm looking for a few pointers/suggestions (as I reluctantly need to use this to stay in the band).

1) What are some cheap alternatives for a power amp supply? I won't run this into any of my nice tube gear. I have a few 2x12 cabs so I am open to recommendations for power amps or cheap combos that they work well with.

2) Are there any resources/info available for getting up and running w/ some nice tone settings? are the presets any good?

I'm going to borrow a friends solid state crate combo to experiment with it. any suggestions/tricks, etc are much appreciated!!!

2. Jet Bycraft

Jet Bycraft Member

Start here...http://www.adadepot.com/

3. mvd18969

mvd18969 Member

bump for more info

4. TheGrooveking

TheGrooveking Member

An Alternate Reality in a Parallel Universe...