• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

ARC KLONE V2 and the Silver Horse Klon

catfishmusic

This thread is to help anyone trying to decide whether or not to go Klone or Klon.

First, I'm a pro player and have all high end gear...but have completely bypassed the Klon thing my whole career. Never got caught in the hype ...so I'm as objective as they come on this. I finally read enough online to get me curious to try it.

So 1st I picked up an ARC Klone V2 w the external bass switch. Got it and dug it. Aaron is a great guy to deal with. Awesome build quality.

Then a few days ago I bought a low serial Silver Horse Klon that a guy had in his closet since '97 and forgot he had it. He never used it until I came to buy it and we put a battery in it. The thing is brand spanking new, not a scratch.

So today I compared the 2 extensively (primarily as clean boost) with my #1 strat going through my Mesa Mark iic+ set to a blues tone. (used a true bypass looper to test)

I was able to dial the ARC in very very close. I'd say it's 95+% there. (I compared bypassed buffered signals and it was probably 98% there)

The difference I heard was in the EQ curve. To my ears the Klon had a nicer frequency range and smoother top end. ARC was a little edgier in the treble. Again this was very subtle.

For me the biggest difference was in the feel. I definitely preferred the feel of the Klon. It played like butter. (again the ARC was very close...95% there but that 5% was noticable to me. The feel of a pedal is as important to me as it's sound)

The ARC would do the job for many. It's a very good pedal.

If you are a pro/advanced player you'd notice the difference, and feel the difference. Also I'm sure that within Klones and within Klons theres a few % differential as well. It comes down to is that remaining differential worth the HUGE differential in cost to you?

For me it is. The Klon will be added to my keeper list. I'll keep the ARC too though.