Are Boss/Roland in danger?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by leeislee, Mar 31, 2015.

1. leeislee

leeislee Member

Hi everyone. I was just wondering about the future for Boss/Roland in terms of guitar modelling/effects etc.

When i started playing 18 years ago i bought myself a GT-5 and it was way ahead of everything else on the market. I knew people who had Zooms, Digitech's etc but they didn't (to my ears) sound anywhere near as good. In fact back in those days Zoom were renowned for the fizz!

Moving on to last year i upgraded to a GT-100 and the difference is between that and the GT-5 is massive but i've noticed that a lot of musicians go down other routes. I love my GT-100 but it doesn't seem as popular as other similar priced units.

Do you think Boss and their dated COSM modelling are in danger of being left behind by the newer guys? (and even the old guys who've improved and evolved)

Aside from the improved sounds Boss have never really deviated from it's multi effects path. They're either on the verge of something great or becoming an old fossil who refuses to move on.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2015
  2. kiki_90291

kiki_90291 Member

It sure seems like they've been really reactive lately - haven't seen much from them lately that looks like a first . . . .

3. BoneSaw

BoneSaw Member

COSM is horrible. I won't consider buying anything that uses it. Until they move on from it Boss is on my pay no mind list.

4. PBGas

PBGas Supporting Member

They will probably come up with something new. Looking forward to the Line6/Yamaha thing as well at some point.

5. Bikedude

Bikedude Gold Supporting Member

It's not that bad, my old Cube 60 sounds pretty freaking good, and has performed flawlessly for 6 years.

6. rsm

rsm Member

GT-100 is on my radar; works for Johnny Marr ;) I also dig Boss pedals (EHX as well), and I plan to get a new Cube 80-GX amp.

They seem to be doing fine from my perspective on the outside.

7. Faraldi

Faraldi Member