Are Dumble and Trainwreck amps completely original?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by pickslide, Mar 20, 2008.

1. pickslide

pickslide Supporting Member

Not being facetious here, but I am still learning about these amazing amps. So, I was wondering, given all the hype and the prices (now), when these amps came out were they that much different than anything that was already out there?

Also, just out of curiosity, does anybody know the price of these amps directly from the builders when they first came out?

2. camelface

camelface Member

The Dumbles are based on twins apparantly. I don't know how close they are to them though.

3. FloridaSam

FloridaSam Member

4. pickslide

Define original? I guess were the circuits/designs significantly different from other existing amps like marshall/fender/vox, etc...

5. kevin hart

kevin hart Supporting Member

The prices they command are pretty original.

6. fullerplast

fullerplast Senior Member

According to Dumble himself, one of his goals was to replicate the great cranked tweed 5E3 deluxe tone that one can get recording or playing at home, but deliver it in a package that was useable in a loud band environment.

If you listen to early and later David Lindley and Larry Carlton, when they transitioned from the 5E3 to the Dumble, I'd say he met that goal pretty well.

Original? I'd call it original application of classic tube amp design concepts.

7. Structo

Structo Member

The main differences are that Ken Fischer built an amp on the verge of instability that has a sound that is best cranked up and the volume control on the guitar is used to clean up the tone.

The Dumble amps I believe started out as modified Fender amps (Bassman's?)
    But Dumble modified the tone stacks, PI, and overdrive sections to achieve a rather unique tone. Think Larry Carlton and Robben Ford to name a couple.