Are Gold Foil Pickups Good for blues?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by tigercasual, May 21, 2019.

1. tigercasual

tigercasual Member

Hey guys,

I have a guitar in need of a new set of pickups. It's a Mid-Nineties Ibanez Talman. The one made from "Resoncast," some sort of MDF type of "wood".

It's loaded with P90s that have grown brittle sounding with age and the Resoncast body tends to lean a little toward that brighter side as it is.

So, I want a pickup that's present but isn't harsh. I tend to lean toward Texas Blues to aggressive ZZ Top kinds of sounds. I've been thinking of trying a set if Gold Foils, however, I don't know if they are touch sensative- I prefer as much touch sensitivity and dynamics as possible.

I've also heard that Gold Foil tend to be a little on the high-treble side. Not sure how that would work in a brighter guitar.

Any opinions or suggestions?

Thanks,
    Danny

2. Chandyland

Chandyland Member

I have no firsthand experience with gold foils, but there a good chunk of earlier Black Keys records that are recorded on an old Harmony loaded with gold foils.

So yes, I would say they can be great for blues.

coltonius likes this.
  3. JoePerkinsMusic

JoePerkinsMusic Member

Gold Foils are insanely versatile for everything...I was really surprised fitting them to my SG. Occasionally have do to use the tone control to tame the highs, but....if you're somebody who uses the tone knob anyway, you'll be in your element. Even work with fuzz :p

4. coltonius

coltonius Señor Member Silver Supporting Member

Short answer is of course! But also realize that “goldfoils” is not a catch-all phrase. There are Guyatone-style foils, Dearmond foils, etc...

I have an old Bobkat with a vintage Dearmond and a Dearmond-style Novak foil. They sound P90ish.