Are there any essential books for learning how to solo better?

TomBombadil

I’m a guitarist in a church band, which is pretty simple music, and as I’ve devoted lots of my time to that, my soloing ability has atrophied and I have almost no vocabulary. I understand it enough, but I’m pretty bad at it and I’d like to brush up on my soloing ability and music theory, specific to soloing. I looked into lessons but they’re a little pricey. Any books that are really good that I could work through?

Lephty

I'm tempted to say that if you're looking for it in a book, you're barking up the wrong tree (so to speak). But I'm sure people will have some book recommendations for you, and some might be quite helpful.

But when someone tells me they want to learn to solo better, I often find that work is needed in a couple of areas. First, learning the fretboard. Learn pentatonic scales, and then major scales all over the neck, in any key (toward that end, I'd recommend investigating the CAGED system). Second, my guess is that you might need work connecting what your fingers are doing on the fretboard with what you are hearing in your head. I usually recommend that people use backing tracks, and slow down and really listen to how the notes of a scale relate to the chord of the moment. And finally, spend some time studying melody. Learn the melodies of the songs that you are soloing on, and use the melody as a launching point for your solo.

I don't have any real experience playing modern church music (actually I did play in a church folk group for a couple years when I was a teenager), but I'm going to guess that it's not super complicated...you probably don't need to be Allan Holdsworth to play it. Nice, clear melodies using pentatonic and major scales (and the modes) are likely to be what the music calls for. It's not rocket science, but at the same time there's no shortcut. Hit that practice room!

TomBombadil