Asher appreciation thread

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by shallbe, Aug 26, 2013.

1. shallbe

shallbe Deputy Plankspanker Gold Supporting Member

I own Asher Ultratone T, #634.

Holy cow, I really enjoy playing this guitar. I have had it for 2 months, and now it's tweaked and setup perfectly. I nearly sold this and my LP Custom after a financial pinch with 2 kids now in college, but thankfully that's past.

Here it is:

[​IMG]

It is very light (6.5 lbs.) with a large V neck and rounded fretboard edges. The combination of the truly unique neck carve and satin finish make it so much fun to play.

The pickups have a unique sound. The neck is bigger and clearer than a traditional Tele, and the bridge is fatter and not as bright. I have been playing Teles in bands for over 30 years, and had to change my expectations and let the guitar be was supposed to be. I now love the individual feel and tone that is the Ultratone T.

Kudos to Bill for making a unique instrument that seems retro and modern at the same time. I often think it looks like a guitar would appear on the Jetsons.

Show your Asher and share your experience, please. Let's see more of Bill's work.

2. Guitarworks

Guitarworks Member

It's so good and refreshing to hear someone on TGP say this about a 1-man-shop boutique build. So often you see people posting about how they bailed on a guitar like this at a loss because it was just too divergent from the big name mass-produced guitars that they love and know well. I'm all for allowing a guitar's individual character come through and the player adapting to it. An occasional break from the familiar and comfortable is a positive thing, I think.

3. Quintus

Quintus Member

Glad you got to keep your Asher, Steve! I agree with your review, as well. These are such cool, unique guitars and the playability, tone and overall craftsmanship is the best I've encountered. Here are a couple shots of my Asher Ultra Tone T Deluxe in Pelham blue.

[​IMG]