Assembling a strat from parts

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by 56_Special, Feb 4, 2006.

1. 56_Special

56_Special Member

What kind of time and skill does it take to assemble a strat from parts (sourced from some place like Warmoth or USA Custom Guitars)? I'm thinking about a body that is already finished at the factory. Once I get all the parts together, is further wookworking required? Small tweaks and adjustments? If this is my first time attempting a project like this, can I expect to assemble a very high quality guitar?

Thanks!

Martin

2. K-man

K-man Member

I built a Warmoth strat. I took a class at the local luthier and it was well worth it. There's still alot of work left to be done if you want a good quality guitar, such as mounting the neck, leveling and dressing the frets, cutting the nut, mounting the hardware, etc. I would suggest you try to find a class, or in the very least read Dan Erlewine's Guitar Player Repair Guide. Great book.

Good luck! It's a great feeling to play a guitar you built (or at least assembled) yourself!

3. 56_Special

56_Special Member

Thanks for the 411, K-Man. So, if a parts guitar is comptently assembled---for example, under the supervision of an experienced luthier---how good a guitar will result? Would it be on a par with a high quality "store bought" guitar?

4. DEMENTED

DEMENTED Supporting Member

Most likely it would be of higher quality, as long as the luthier is competent.

5. stratofied

stratofied Member

Maybe better maybe not. The quality of the parts and skill of the Luthier will determine the final result.

6. K-man

K-man Member

It will depend on the quality of the parts and the luthier. If they are both good certainly the guitar will be much higher quality than what goes through Fender/Gibson assembly lines. Of course it won't be as good as a guitar hand built by a luthier with 20 years experience, but I think you get the picture.