Attenuator question ( need help)

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by Mooncusser, Jul 7, 2006.

1. Mooncusser

Mooncusser Member

Hi everyone,

I need to ask a question.
    I have never used an attenuator before.
    I have a few questions.
    If I buy a Weber MASS 100 for my Marshall 1959 SLP, how much tone will it suck?
    Does it sound artificial or feel processed, and just how much can you crank the amp and be able to enjoy the yeilded output in say, your basement? ....without buzzing the neighbors. (kinda hard to explain that last one, but I think you might see what I'm getting at.)
    Anyway, Thank you very much for your advice and opinons.
    Take care and best regards,
    Mass

2. John Phillips

John Phillips Member

First and very important, you need a bigger attenuator. The Mass 100 isn't enough for a 100W Marshall, you need at least the 150W model (Weber will tell you this too). A cranked amp puts out far more than the rated power - Marshall Super Leads among the most, many are well over 150W and some over 200W fully-distorted output.

(This is something that really annoys me, not just about Weber - IMO an attenuator should be rated for the amp power, not the actual electrical power. A '100W' attenuator should be capable of taking the full output of any '100W' amp on the market IMO, exactly to avoid confusion like this. If it isn't, and blows, you can count on expensive amp damage up to and including a blown OT.)

Second, I don't think any attenuator will give you quite what you're looking for at practice levels from that amp. IMO they don't affect the tone as badly as some people say they do, but when you get beyond about -10dB all bets are off really - and at -10dB the amp is still putting out 10W, which is LOUD through a normal speaker cabinet... much louder than what I would think of as home-practice volume, but that depends on your home :).