Attenuators...............

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by OldSchool, Oct 11, 2005.

1. OldSchool

OldSchool Senior Member

I just got a Kick ass Germino and love it but................f*ck it if it ain't loud. I saw the Webber Mini mass for $100...............The hot late sound great but Money is an issue.............Any experiences? Facts opinions? Thanks!!

2. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member

I've used Dr. Airbrakes with Germinos with great results.

3. big mike

big mike Moderator Staff Member

Buy a real one. The Mini robs way too much tone at max attenuation. My fav is the Airbrake, but the hotplate is good too.

4. pfrischmann

pfrischmann Member

How much do you need to attenuate? that makes a difference

5. mr breaker

mr breaker Member

I haven't used an attenuator before. I have a 100watt tube amp (master volume), when I'm just practicing at home I keep the volume super low to get bedroom volume levels.

Obviously this does not sound nearly as good as when the volume is even on 4 or 5.

Would the Dr Z or hotplate give me the tone I get when the volume is high, but not necessarily cranked, at a bedroom level?

Or are these attenuators designed strictly for cranking your amp to get power tube distortion?

6. AndreasG

AndreasG Member

How many OD/Dist/Booster pedals do you have ight now? Sell them all but one and get HotPlate or DrZ.
    BUT....an attenuator ain't good for bedroom playing. It works great if you use it to attenuate ust a bit on gigs and rehearsals. My Hotplate sounds GREAT at -4 and -8db, OK at -12db and useless (to my ears) on - 16db.

7. Nigel11

Nigel11 Member

I had a THD for a couple days and sent it back.I just like the sound of the amp pushing the speakers.

8. brent

brent Member

An attenuator ain't gonna get you to bedroom levels, it will keep you from pissing off soundguys leadsingers and to a certain extent wives.