1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Audio engineering school vs. learning on your own

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by lydog, Jan 25, 2006.

Audio engineering school or invest a studio and learn yourself?

1. Learn from the pros in a state of the art facility.

2. Learn as you go, and buy a ton of your own gear.

3. Depends, the two are mutually exclusive.

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. lydog

lydog Member

I looked into recording schools in the LA area, and for a state of the art, full time for 6 months course, it seems they're in the $10-17k range. I'm wondering if it is worth it, or if a better decision would be to invest that money into a private studio and learn on my own.

Some additional info:
    I'm a musician first, and would be learning to produce my own music. I'm not looking to run a studio, but would probably try to pay some bills by doing some work for amateur musicians.
    I'm hoping to make my career as a performer/artist rather than a studio owner or engineer/producer for another studio.

note: I'm trying to create a poll... hope that works out!

2. g-nem

g-nem Member

If you aren't interested in being a professional engineer/ producer, I wouldn't waste your money going to an audio engineering school. You might be able to find a local studio owner looking for an unpaid intern, though- that'll give you an idea of what's going on really quick.

Learning about recording is a lot like learning to play- spending time with people who know more than you do and spending time learning how to do it on your own. Going to an engineering school would be as much worth it for job placement and hireability as for the knowledge you would gain (especially in only 6 months.) Buy your own studio for 10K and spend the next 5 years learning.

3. duffyguitarman

duffyguitarman Member