AVRI 65 Strat Playability

amp48

I'm interested in picking up one of these.
What is the playability like (bends on vintage frets, vintage radius)?

thanks.

Last edited:
Well, how often do you bend more than a minor third? I honestly haven't had an issue with my '64 AVRI tele except for at around the 15th fret on the high E.

amp48

No, I'm not a huge string bending freak. Just normal rock leads.
I'm used to 9.5 and 12" radius necks with medium jumbo frets, so just wondering how much of a difference it is going to vintage frets and radius.

zwolf

The guitar feels amazing. Nicest neck and body I've had the pleasure to play. The radius and frets feel right to me. Bends are fine, haven't fretted out yet. A bigger concern for me on bends is getting the feel right because of the vintage floating trem (I'm new to these). Still haven't mastered the exact amount more I need to bend to get the same intonation.

Love this guitar.

bluegrif

Silver Supporting Member
I'm used to 9.5 and 12" radius necks with medium jumbo frets, so just wondering how much of a difference it is going to vintage frets and radius.
Well, it's a pretty big difference. But I don't think anyone will be able to tell you how well you'll adapt. It really won't answer your question to hear, "no problem for me", or "I can't stand vintage frets" or whatever.

But consider this: that fretboard radius and fret size was developed at a time when music was very different and musicians played very differently. My Dad was a pro since the 40s. He could play blazingly fast but never did any bending. Strings were heavier, and the G string was unwound. So you have to ask yourself why you want to consider going to a guitar that may fight you a little more. For me it isn't a problem. I bend like crazy but I grew up playing those guitars, which makes a huge difference.