AX8...me too!

Semitone

So I was a little tired of reading everybody's "First Impressions" of the AX8 so I decided to write my own long winded initial ( and probably final) report.

As a bit of background: I have been using my HD500 for the last 3 years running it through a Behringer B212d ( Yeah...go ahead and laugh but this $200 dollar baby has served me well. ) I use the setup in bedroom/basement/mancave volumes and have never had an issue with the B212d contrary to popular TGP opinion. Is it FRFR? Who the hell knows! My basement certainly isn't acoustically neutral either so all I really care about is if I get a sound I like, not so much whether I am recreating the actual modeled amp ( since most of these I don't own and am really not in a position to A/B in any systematic scientific way)

Over the years, I have tweaked the hell out of the HD500. Even went to the point of putting a midi controlled Two Notes Torpedo CAB in the FX loop because I just didn't quite love the sound. Mind you, I've never quite love the sound of my tube amps frequently. ( Sometimes I even blame guitars for months at a time and make them sit in the closet.) I even tweaked the bias on my Fender Blues Deluxe RI to get it to sound the way I want...damn the suffering tubes.

I edited the HD500 mostly on the unit. I am not a fan, generally, of having everything talk to each other through some software interface that I may or may not have with me at the time. Besides the time lag for the HD500 software to communicate with the floor unit also bugged me. I don't want the correlation of obsolescence for my gear to be +1.

For the money, I never really had complaints about the HD500. ( nor with my RP500 before that) It's a lot of tech, a lot of fun and a lot of value. Never really perfect but then again, what can you expect for the price. It wasn't a Kemper or AXE-FX II, but it was pretty good for the money.

So back to the AX-8. A few things I really liked about it right away