Axe FX/Kemper Multi timbre sound questions

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by claytushaywood, Feb 22, 2012.

1. claytushaywood

claytushaywood Member

Okay I'm a noob with this stuff and am just starting to have my curiosity piqued. For me one thing I've always wanted to be able to do live is to recreate those huge crushing multi track guitar parts. The ones where you would record the same guitar part with different guitars, amps, slight eq changes etc. Thinking Smashing Pumpkins, My Bloody valentine... The Wall of distortion sound.

Is this something that these upper end modellers can do? I know guitar rig could do it with splitters and whatnot, but that sauce is weak. I'm talking convincing multi amp sounds- something that would make billy corgans more prone to play live ya know? Or any sort of this type of capability. Maybe being a able to run the signal into a splitter that uses say- stereo signal with two amps and 2 speaker cabinets per amp, or 2 pre- amp equalizer settings per side (giving 4 eq's) into two amps?

I am a big fan of playing in stereo with different amps set to sound somewhatttt similar. The stereo spread just adds so much to the impact of a sound. These units have proven their individual amp capabilites flat out, is this kinda power a thing to hope for in the future?

2. Scott Whigham

Scott Whigham Member

Good question. I had a chance to play with the Kemper this week for several hours. It has stereo out but a mono guitar signal. We were guessing the stereo out was really so you could route delays/reverbs/chorus effects around. So can you do a stereo out with one modeling/profiling unit? Yes. But that's not what you want as I understand it - you want two modeling units. Yes, that would work - split the signal from the guitar and then bam. It's going to be crazy expensive - the KPA is $1850 and the Axe FX II is $2200 - but it will work. Don't forget the cost of the amps and monitors if needed.

3. loudboy

loudboy Member