Bandmaster Reverb crackle..fixed!

steveb

I have a '72 Bandmaster Reverb that started crackling & popping today. I tried tapping & wiggling all of the tubes, but the noise never changed with any of that. I shut it off for a while, & when I turned it off of standby, there was a series of crackles & pops that settled down after a second or two, but randomly kept crackling. I pulled the phase inverter tube & the crackle was still there, so I'm thinking maybe the power section? I tried other 6L6's & rectifier tubes, & it made no difference. I did notice that when I take it off of standby, one of the power tubes flashes a bit, even with the other set I tried.
Just to be sure, I plugged it into another speaker cab with a different cable, & the crackle was still there.
Thanks in advance,

Last edited:

WaltC

sounds like it's time for a trip to the tube amp doctor. DIY repair is not for the beginner because of the potentially fatal voltages inside a tube amp, so I'd not recommend that for someone who's not familiar with the dangers and reasonably well versed in amp repair.

steveb

Thanks Walt, I've done all the work on my amps for quite a while now, & I'm well aware of the danger. I'm just looking for clues.

WaltC

that said, I'd take a close look at the screen resistors (on the power tube sockets between pin 6 (a "terminal strip" point) and pin 4 (the screen). See if one (or more) is cracked and check the solder joints on both. If they're both still old 1 watt 470 ohm carbon comp resistors, you might want to change them to 470 ohm wire wound 3 watt or 5 watt or even 500 ohm cement 5 Watt'ers.

also check those 1/4 watt 1500 ohm grid stoppers on pin 5 of each power tube and make sure they're intact and both have the same negative bias voltage on them. Wouldn't hurt to replace them while you're at it. Replacing with the same size and type should be fine.

Also check (re-flow or re-do) all the solder joints on both power tubes. Then see what's what.

steveb