Barber Direct Drive Versions?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by padavis, May 21, 2015.

1. padavis

padavis Member

WHATS UP?!

Hey, you know how there are a few different prints on the older style Direct Drives? Are there any real differences between the different looks?

2. drod2045

drod2045 Member

i am not a pro in all the versions, but between the regular DD and the DDSS (which I have) there are additional internal trim-pots on the SS that allow you to tweak the sound/EQ more. The core sound is the same, just additional functionality/sculpting abilities.

3. s360guitarist

s360guitarist Silver Supporting Member

The one with white knobs is the DD Low Gain..

4. Hcklr

Hcklr Supporting Member

I have 5 Direct Drives and every single one sounds different to me. They're all definitely in the same flavor but they all have different levels of gain. The highest gain (and my personal favorite) is the standard Compact Direct Drive.

padavis likes this.
  5. David B

David B Silver Supporting Member

We have made a bunch of different versions of the Direct Drive, all customer inspired. The first DD had actual hand writing and had no internal trim pots, then came internal bass, then harmonics, then presence, then the SS with all the trims, then another SS with note-shape added, then the DD LG with grey knobs. The DD graphic with the rectangle was the last version of the DD and DD LG, it had bass and presence trim pots...trim pots are awesome, tell the world we need to bring trim-pots back! :)

padavis likes this.
  6. padavis

padavis Member

Mr. Barber... Awesome! Thanks for giving it to us straight! Can't get any better than this, can it folks?! I love TGP!

7. padavis

padavis Member

I might have to try a new one to see how it compares.
    I'll post another update when my new i think old one gets here.

8. Flatscan

Flatscan Supporting Member