Barber Tone Press or Diamond Compressor?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by johnsfore, Mar 29, 2008.

1. johnsfore

johnsfore Member

I have decided to purchase a compressor once again after having used the Keeley 2-knob unit for some time and being somewhat dissatisfied with it. I did find that it tended to color my sound and I ended up giving it to my son who loves it (hey, what's not to love - it was free!). I have been reading through many of the excellent threads here on TGP regarding compressors and have narrowed my search down to either the Barber Tone Press or the Diamond Compressor, both of which seem to get excellent reviews consistently. I have the Barber Silver LTD pedal and really love what it does in terms of a low-to-mid OD. I have no experience with Diamond products but their website is first-rate and their testimonials are strong. Any advice or suggestions would be very much appreciated. Thanks to all.

2. woude

woude Member

I have played the tone press and I own the diamond compressor. I don't think you can go wrong with either. The diamond is the most transparant compressor, it's the complete opposite of Ross type compressors. It just compresses your signal, no coloration and in a certain way, no character of itself. Very silent too, unlike the keeley. Goes from very subtle to a bit of compression, not to the ammount of the keeley. The tilt eq is the best. It can be switched out of the signal path if you don't like it, but it will give you either a super nice sparkle or it fattens up your sound, if you want. It's one of the best boosts for other pedals I've played with as well. It's not a clean boost, but it will bring the best out of any pedal after it.

3. thewex

thewex Member