1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

Bartlett Guitars: Anyone Have Any Insights???

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by magnus02, May 22, 2011.

1. magnus02

magnus02 Member

I just came across these...

http://www.bartlettwoodworking.com/body.html

and... I'm obsessed...

I have some cash coming in soon and am REALLY considering ordering one. I've always wanted a good '59 copy and though Gil Yaron was the best out there, but these pictures are killing me... does anyone have any experiences with these or care to share their opinions? I'm no expert on the various clone builders so I'm not sure if there is someone doing a better job out there, but these are the best looking I've seen...

No affiliation yada yada yada, just wondering if I'm missing someone better or if these are as legit as I think they look...

Fire away...

:munch

2. wemedge

wemedge Member

They're close to my neck of the woods (but I have no personal experience with them). A bunch of people have finished or in-progress Bartlett kits over at My Les Paul forum, if you want to check there. The person from Bartlett posts there too. I checked them out because I was considering their kit.

wemedge

3. bluesforstevie

bluesforstevie Member

Have you checked out Gil Yaron's? Between Tom and Gil, you can't go wrong...but Gil makes ALL the parts too. Besides being a gifted luthier, he actually fabricates his own hardware and plastic!!! So...Gil is numero uno for an LP replica if you ask me. I wish I had the loot, I'd already have one and be playing every damned day with one of those bad boys!!!!

4. anyone

anyone Member

Not saying anything other than "interesting choice of name..."
    http://www.tdpri.com/forum/tele-home-depot/194271-1959-les-paul-build-75.html#post2471726