Basement studio build

I recently moved into a new house, and I finally have the chance to build a dedicated control room for my work. I thought I would start a thread to document the process of renovating my basement into something useable.

I was very fortunate to find a place with a big basement and pretty high ceilings (9ft). On the basement floor there's a roughly 20'x25' living room, and an adjacent 12'x14.5' bedroom that I will be turning into a control room. Although the living room will ultimately be mixed use, I'll be able to use it for recording guitar cabs and an occasional drum set.

I'm a podcast producer, so most of what I do is editing and mixing spoken word, but I also compose bumper music and music beds for shows. Occasionally I'll mix for music artists as well. I also record voiceover and narrate audiobooks.

So my primary goal for the control room is:
  1. Great frequency and time domain response, especially between 50-200Hz. I've always had trouble in this range in my previous rooms because I couldn't put in the acoustic treatment required to smooth that area.
  2. Just enough isolation for VO, but I'm not trying to fully soundproof. Aiming for about 40dB of isolation from outside noises.
  3. Easy access to guitars, amp heads, and keyboards for recording. I like these to be organized, patched in, and ready to go quickly -- all I have to do is throw a mic or two on the cab in the "live room." Keys and bass will be direct.

Here's a shot of the room when we moved in. Check out the uber chic fake wood paneling!

bHsl2oW.jpg

And here's a sketch of the room dimensions:
f6Tng6T.jpg

jasnc

Congratulation, that’s going to be awesome. I checked out your site, are you still in Texas? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a basement in Texas!

mlkIII

Silver Supporting Member