Basic computer recording setup recommendations?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by trumpus, Feb 22, 2006.

1. trumpus

trumpus Supporting Member

Hey all,

I'm a guitarist/singer/songwriter, and i am a complete newbie to computer recording, but i was interested in suggestions for a moderately priced and easy to use computer recording setup. The only recording experience i have (on my own) is with a Tascam analog 4-track (which i've since sold). Right now, all i have, equipment-wise is an SM-58 mic and my guitar rig. I even sold my mic stand and cables (but kept the mic, figuring i'd need it again eventually).

I am mainly looking for a small setup that will allow me to record ideas/personal jams for my electric rig (either direct or mic'ing my amp) and acoustic tunes with 1 or 2 vocal tracks and 1 or 2 guitar/mando/banjo/bass tracks) - very simple, just something to get my ideas in a form i can listen to and share, with a good, beginner/intro into the world of computer recording.

I have a new Dell Inspiron 8600 laptop (sorry, no Macs here), so i'd need something that would work well with this...

I am looking for suggestions for:
    - a USB/Firewire interface with basic software
    - 1 or 2 microphones to mic an acoustic guitar, vocals, and/or the room
    - an inexepensive pair of studio monitors - nothing fancy, just a way to hear what i record out loud.

I have been looking at the M-Audio Black Box - i know it's role as an interface isn't it's strongest point (the effects and drum tracks are a more important part) - but the price is right and figuring i'm not playing with a band - it seems perfect. A friend just picked one up and uses it for a simiar application - and loves it.

Any other ideas?

Brian

2. Stevo57

Stevo57 Supporting Member

3. gassyndrome

gassyndrome Member