Bass, bass, bass

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by joshbaezmusic, Feb 12, 2012.

1. joshbaezmusic

joshbaezmusic Member

Hey guys,
    So I'm using my downstairs as a home studio, but whenever I listen to my tracks, the bass is never as loud as it is if I take it to a friend's house. When I listen to it over there, or anywhere else, my mixes are ALWAYS bass heavy. What can I do to fix this problem? I use a pair of Rokit KRK 5's. Should I get a subwoofer? Maybe a larger pair of monitors? Please help!

Thanks!

-j.

2. Scott Whigham

Scott Whigham Member

That's probably the most common mixing problem for folks just starting out. Are your speakers maybe very close to the wall? Do you have any room treatment (particularly bass traps) set up?

3. joshbaezmusic

joshbaezmusic Member

They're about 3 inches from the wall. How far should they be? And what are "bass traps?" Sorry, you were right- I'm new to all of this!

4. Scott Whigham

Scott Whigham Member

There's a whole science to it. The smart thing to do is to budget 1-2 years and learn it. But, if you don't have that much time, then read a book maybe? Rod Gervais' is a relatively new classic one - http://www.amazon.com/Home-Recordin...=UTF8&coliid=IE8LPTPMD832P&colid=F2K4AZIWZWG2

If not that, read up on the web about how to setup a mixing room. When you have speakers that close to a solid surface, you get what are called "standing waves". When you have a poorly setup room, you also have frequency cancellation and room modes at play. This results in the sound you hear at the mixing position (i.e. your desk) being inaccurate.

Read up on "room modes", "standing waves", and "how to measure a room for acoustics". I'm not trying to give you a snide answer; it's really a HUGE subject that a few paragraphs will barely gloss over.