Bass Recommendation in the $400 Range?

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by jlf2960, Jan 20, 2008.

1. jlf2960

jlf2960 Member

I have a friend who has recently started playing in a band and needs a new bass. He's looking to spend no more than $400. I'm a guitarist and know very little about basses. His only specificiation is that it not have a pickguard.

He may end up buying used but what would you guys recommend in the $400 range?

Thanks

2. ghoti

ghoti Member

That's pretty vague. Bang for your buck, I'd go with Peavey, Schecter, or Dean. Yamaha makes some fine instruments as well. Used Fenders can be had for that price range, as can some Gibson/Epiphone (am I the only one who likes Thunderbirds?)

Of course, some of the online house-brands are actually quite good quality.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/navi...-electric-bass-guitars?N=100001+304428+201000

http://www.rondomusic.com/bassguitars4.html

I've played basses from both of these companies, and they're nicer than any Fender of comparable price. If you're buying new, they're probably the best inexpensive ones you can get.

3. Antero

Antero Member

Why does he care about a pickguard?

The obvious choice would be a standard Mexican-made P-Bass. Good sound, works for anything. That has a pickguard, though.

My friend uses a Yamaha BB414, which has a P/J pickup setup, good versatility, and runs about $400 street. No pickguard, also. He gets some pretty smooth sounds with that.

4. mcknigs

mcknigs Supporting Member