Bbe Sonic Stomp Thoughts Anyone?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by trower, Jul 13, 2006.

1. trower

trower Silver Supporting Member

I'v Seen These Around. The Rackables Are Great! How Do These Compare Working Thru The Front Of Amp?

2. d7music

d7music Member

I picked one up last week, being a fan of the rack unit for recording and for live PA use.

It really like it! It adds that high end sparkle without the "ice-pick".
    It also has a "Lo Contour" knob that does some nice things to the low end.

3. badger6

badger6 Member

I have been using one for about 6 months now.....I had the rack mount unit in my pa for years. Does the same thing for your guitar basically.....best phrase I heard that seems like what it does with my rig was "sounds like taking a blanket off of your amp"

4. cameron

cameron Member

I tried the optical compressor. Very nice, but not really a guitar compressor, more like a studio compressor. Would be great for bass, or for acoustic guitar.

5. shooto

shooto Supporting Member

I found a 264R for $35 and I really like what it does- I think it'll go into the loop permanently- sparkly high and blanket off amp are the best descriptions-

6. gtr777

gtr777 Supporting Member

I've had a wierd experiance with the bbe rack mounts. I had a 462 and had it in the loop of a JMP-1 going to a boogie 290 power amp and loved what it did for my sound. I then got an Soldano SLO-100 and put it in the loop and it really thinned out my tone. I thought I might need the 862 since you can run that at +4. I bought one and tried it but it thinned out my tone as well. Maybe it just doesn't work with that amp for some reason. I've never been able to figure out the cause...I guess it just works in some situations better then others...

7. iggs

iggs Member