Be Glad Mesa is in Gibson's Family and not FMIC

DocJeff

Gibson receives bashing on an hourly basis. I am still glad that Mesa Boogie is now squarely in Gibson's camp instead of FMIC.

Gibson has made the decision to keep their most prestigious brand made in America. Not only that, every Gibson guitar also has a lacquer finish. What is remarkable is that Gibson offers high quality American made guitars at very competitive price points when you consider the labor and taxes that they pay.

A faded Gibson Les Paul or SG is a professional instrument and most of them sound very good. While they may not have the bling that their Asian made competition has in 99/100 cases the Gibson will sound better and hold more of its value.

The recent 2020 crop of Gibson guitars has been fantastic. We've seen models that many have requested, such as a non-Historic Les Paul Special in TV Yellow with a 50s neck profile. Add in the hard case and included PLEK job, although being an experienced luthier I couldn't care less about that, and for the money it's a very good deal sure to appreciate in value.

Mesa Boogie is a premium brand. As an amplifier designer as well as a collector I have seen and played through hundreds of high quality amplifiers. Mesa Boogie has a fairly (for the layman) complex design but for the most part are reliable, sound great and have a very good reputation.

FMIC seems to get a pass because they're willing to placate the masses by putting the once iconic Fender name on any piece of junk they can. Recently on a visit to the local Guitar-Mart I saw some of the newer Fender branded guitars. They looked toy like and, as I expected, were made oversees.