Beano Boost - opinions please

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by daphil_1, Feb 7, 2008.

1. daphil_1

daphil_1 Member

Hey all - as above, just looking for some collective experiences with teh analogman beano boost. Its one of those pedals I have long wanted to try - but the whole treble boost thing has never been a path I have walked!

I am partic interested in whether you guys use it as a lead or rhythem pedal or a "leave on all the time" ala clean boost style pedal.

Cheers,

Phil.

2. FloridaSam

FloridaSam Member

I have a Dallas Rangemaster clone. I love it for lead boosts and such but I don't thinnk I'd like it on all the time... too much treble.

3. somedude

somedude Member

I liked it as a lead pedal... very raw sounding compared to most (particularily TS style) overdrives.

As an rhythm OD I found it dumped too much bottom end.

4. welcometoashley

welcometoashley Supporting Member

Chicago (Humboldt Park/Ukrainian Village)
    i've owned two. the first one i had seemed a little thin and didn't have a ton of volume on tap so i sold it. i felt i didn't give it much of a chance so i bought another one. this time the beano sounded really thick and musical and has a ton of volume on tap - i couldn't be happier. i mostly use it for leads (either driving a cranked amp or driving an OD when going into a cleaner amp) and it really, really cuts through a mix. i also use it for some rhythm parts but kind of sparingly. i use it on almost all my leads now...

it definitely could be a "leave on all the time pedal" 'cause it cleans up so well at the volume knob. however, i think if you left in on all the time it might start to sound a little old as it's got a very heavy mid-range...

5. daphil_1

daphil_1 Member

heavy mid range is what my ampeg vt-22 is all about...this could be quite a combo. This is prob against forum rules - but I have a mint OCD v3 if anyone is up for a trade on a beano!

6. Teahead

Teahead Member

7. gtrshow