1. The Gear Page is run by musicians for musicians. We listen, we learn and if we misstep we are not afraid to do the right thing. We proposed some changes to the Emporiums. Based on feedback from members, we have decided to not go ahead with those changes. However, it has also highlighted that we need some community input into what is working and what is not working for members here. Primarily focused on the Emporiums, we'd like input on your thoughts about TGP and how things work in the Emporiums for you and how you'd improve them. The discussion thread on the is here!

Dismiss Notice

Because of TGP, I changed PUPs myself

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Crask422, Oct 1, 2006.

1. Crask422

Crask422 Guest

When I started playing, only about a year now, I assumed electric guitars were quite complicated inside. Reading this board and seeing all of the changes people make I thought I would give it a try.

My light ash Strat came with Seymour Duncan singles. Standing at the counter of a local shop I saw a bridge position Hot Rail by SD. I thought it would be a nice first project. A trip to radio shack for a proper soldering setup and I was off to the races. An hour later, most of the time was taking off strings and replacing them, I was done.

I plugged her in expecting that I had screwed something up and all was well. I know it's not a true Humbucker sound becuase of the size and distance apart of the rails, but I enjoy the sound of it.

One question, the 0.22 caps, do they hold enough voltage to hurt you? I din't think about it until I was done, nor did I need to touch it, but isn't that the purpose of the cap, to hold onto voltage?

Thanks for all the reading and giving me the courage to dig into this myself.

2. scottlr

scottlr Member