beding with 3rd finger

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by rickman769, Jun 6, 2005.

1. rickman769

rickman769 Member

ever since i started playing ive always bent notes that stretch 4 frets or more with all four of my fingers, as well as just playing notes.
    I seem to use my pinky alot more than other guitar players ive seen.
    It seems like most people use their 3 fingers to reach across 4 frets and bend.
    Is it bad that i use my pinky and my 3rd finger?
    I hope this made sense.
    Thanks

2. rickman769

rickman769 Member

what im talking about is
    supose an E minor scale starting on the twelth fret
    oh the high E string the last 3 notes are on frets 12, 14, and 15
    i fret the 12 with my first, 14 with my 3rd and 15 with my pinky.
    When i do a whole step bend from G to A i fret 12, 13,14, and 15 with fingers 1,2,3,4 and bend up.
    Ive noticed that many players will fret 14(f) with their 3rd finger and slide it up to 15(g) and bend using only those 3 fingers. I've found this especially true when they are playing a pentatonic scale pattern.
    I've always thought it was more efficient to use my pinky in that case, but more and more im seeing players do it the way i just described ( including the likes of Joe Satriani and Stevie Ray Vaughan among others)
    Is my technique improper, or do I just play differently?
    I hope this clears it up
    Thanks

3. rickman769

rickman769 Member

nothin?
    i hope its not because of my foolish spelling error on the title

4. Brian D

Brian D Member

Hey rickman,