• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Beginning to play Harmonica

Mr.Minor20

I've played guitar for a few years and have always been interested in playing harmonica. Does anyone have any information on how to do so effectively?

guitgator

ah cut it out! :)

Should I assume you want to play cross-harp blues & country style? When I started playing in the early 70s I pretty much learned by listening to Magic Dick of The J Geils Band...mostly off the Full House "live" album.

Cross-harp means you basically use a harp where the draw notes are in the key you're playing in. For instance...if you want to play in "G" then you use a "C" harp where the blow notes are in "C" and draw notes are in "G"....that's the classic blues sound. So basically for whatever key you'd want in guitar you'd got the second (4th of the scale) position and that's the key you need for your harp.

There was another thread about harmonica here awhile back...you might try searching for it.

Poppa Stoppa

I learned the basics from a great book from the sixties, 'Blues Harp' by Tony 'Little Son' Glover. It was excellent on how to bend notes on both blow and draw, I remember.

Tip: if you want the Chicago sound, learn tongue blocking.

Last edited:

DBBlues

Formerly fullertone
Gold Supporting Member
The thread mentioned above is:
https://www.thegearpage.net/board/archive/index.php/t-406945.html
but it appears to be blank when I try it.

Some suggestions: