Behringer KXD12 Keyboard Combo With A Line 6 Helix - Review

Nick Shephard

First a little history, I’ve been playing guitar for nearly 40 years, (never been that good though!) The last ten I’ve used modelling gear almost exclusively, firstly POD, Axe-Fx Ultra and now a Line 6 Helix. I also record, mostly other bands and have done years of live mixing and I’ve been told I have a “good ear”.

I have a thing about monitoring but I have to admit I’m not a purist. We don’t live in a world were everybody listens to music on perfect sound systems. I’m not that interested in statistics or preconceptions but I know what I like. Over the years I’ve had access to a big variety PA and monitors both good and bad studio and PA. My current studio monitors and point of reference are Equator D5 and I love them!

I’ve been on the active monitor trail now for both the Axe-Fx when I owned it, and now for the Helix for some time. My general view of active PA cabs is that above a certain price point, they are all generally good sounding and much of a muchnuss. Coming from the seventies and using that gear, IMHO you’ve got to try really hard to sound like crap using some of today’s offerings. I finally decided that to stop the never-ending search for a guitar modelling amp solution, I’d aim high and go for something like a CLR, Matrix, or Friedman offering.

A couple of weeks ago, out of the blue a friend of mine suggested we put a rock and blues band together, go out and have some fun. I needed a monitor for rehearsal, I thought there must be something out there I can get for a few weeks for rehearsal then sell it when I’m ready to commit to something upmarket for the gigs. On a complete whim I spent £260 on a Behringer KXD12 keyboard amp.