Best Bass in the $300-$400 Price Range

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by slicepaperdavid, Dec 10, 2017.

1. slicepaperdavid

slicepaperdavid Member

I have the opportunity to get a new bass as a gift for Christmas. It will be my 1st bass, I’ve been playing guitar for 16 years and the bass will be used primarily for recording. I’ve been eyeing a Squire Vintage Modified Jazz Bass 77 http://www.musiciansfriend.com/bass...-77/h99637000001000?pfm=item_page.rr1|ClickCPbut am open to other suggestions. Not looking to go used even though thats the route I’d usually go. I play in low tunings, c standard and like an overdriven, punchy bass tone ie modern Converge, High on Fire.

2. somedude

somedude Member

The Squier basses are pretty nice. With the cheaper basses durability is typically an issue, but if it'll be a studio bass that shouldn't be an issue.

I recommend going to a store and demoing both a Jazz and a Precision bass.

3. slicepaperdavid

slicepaperdavid Member

good advice, thanks

4. germs

germs Member

ok, i'm in your ballpark.

personal choice: i don't think they're being mfg'd anymore, but try for a used Fender Blacktop bass with 2 humbuckers.

or any used MIM Fender bass in good shape is your best bet. you should be able to find them online all day for that price.

slicepaperdavid likes this.
  5. ksandvik

ksandvik Member

I've done lots of gigs with a Square VM (the black at the top link), like last Friday. Nice bass guitars for the price. The pickups are excellent.

slicepaperdavid likes this.
  6. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye Member

I can't think of anything I would personally buy anywhere near that price range, but I am and have always been a bassist and I have a lot of really nice basses. I think if I was in your shoes I would be looking for a Squier CV J bass. From the people I have talked to these basses are easily on par with the MIM basses and many even say they're better.

GravityJim likes this.
  7. ksandvik

ksandvik Member