BEST Cable for DIY 8-Channel DB25 Snake?

Bobo Fret

Whatchyou lookin' at?
This will be for two separate DIY 8-channel D-Sub DB25 snake. 8-in / 8-out analog XLR patchbay in my studio desk. PC, display, monitors (shielded) are all arms length away.

--I'm not necessarily looking for something that has all the wires bound together, like the typical Mogami snake (though that's fine too).

--Brand/product recommendations that would be great. I don't need long leads, so I can spend a little on a quality product.

--What gauge wire would be the max to look for in order to get 8-channels-worth of wiring into a DB25 connector?

--Do I need to deal with star quad cable?

Thanks!!!!!!!!

Bobo Fret

Whatchyou lookin' at?
Gotham Cable looks like they have some nice options, but I have no experience with them personally. I've used Canare (didn't like), Evidence Audio and Cardas Golden Chord for my balanced cable needs thus far. None of those manufacturers make a mini cable for this application. I'll have to check Sommer, Klotz, ?????

Rex Anderson

Gotham makes nice cable. Any reason you don't want to use Mogami? I made some snakes for analog audio using their AES snake cable. Very high quality.

Don't get caught up in the expensive high end cable snake oil. I was a professional recording and live sound engineer for 30+ years. I got recommendations from guys who made Grammy winning albums.

Bobo Fret

Whatchyou lookin' at?
No reason other than due diligence. I use Mogami cables and like them just fine.

If Gotham makes a better cable at the same price, well sign me up. Or if it's about the same but easier to work with and handle on a regular basis, that counts too.

Rex Anderson

I think you would be splitting hairs choosing between Gotham and Mogami. Call Redco and see what they recommend.

Frankly, I'd just have them do the labor unless you just really like doing it. I made a zillion cables and finally got tired of doing it.

Bobo Fret

Whatchyou lookin' at?